(0 rates)
    • February 17, 2017 7:02 AM PST
      • Post(s)
      • Thank(s)
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Struggle of an international student

Hello!

My name is Matt, I'm 19 years old and well... I'm an aspiring animator-to-be. I've been drawing stuff since forever and about a year ago I started getting more into figure drawing, gesture drawing and all these kind of stuff. It is my biggest dream and a life goal to study in the United States. However, I'm a little bit torn about that and I think I'm having a little problem here which I hope you'll be able to help me solve.

Basically, I'm from Poland but living in Ireland at the minute and just as I mentioned before - it has always been my biggest dream to study in the U.S. I've been searching through different schools across the whole country and after a while I found the so-called "Harvard of animation" being obviously CalArts. I've got really into the school, I've been preparing my portfolio towards a direction they might accept. Ever since I found about CalArts I became absolutely obsessed with the school but we all know that it's not the cheapest school out there, so a financial barrier is pretty clear here. Well, to be honest, that didn't really stop me from trying to collect enough to fund my education there. I've been saving up, I e-mailed them about the possible scholarship and some time ago I even started my own crowdfunding campaign to get me closer to my goal. Nonetheless, even though they replied that a scholarship is possible indeed and very competitive blah blah blah, I got also informed that it can only cover about less than half of a yearly tuition(I assume it'd be around 20k$ yearly) and their scholarships are only merit-based.